OneBeacon Insurance Awards Sixteen College Scholarships
News Release
August 25, 2020

PLYMOUTH, Minn. (August 25, 2020) - OneBeacon Insurance Group has recently awarded sixteen $3,000 college scholarships: eight to the children and grandchildren of OneBeacon and The Guarantee employees, and eight to children of the company’s distribution partners. Recipients were selected based on criteria such as academic performance, leadership roles and participation in school and community activities.

Mike Miller, President U.S. and Specialty Solutions said, “Broadening the scholarship program eligibility and increasing the gift amount were exciting changes for us as it emphasizes our commitment to expanding access to education. We’re proud to be a part of this year’s winners’ academic journeys through supporting their growth and experiences. Although for many, the upcoming school year may look different, we wish them all the best as they begin their studies either from home or inside the classroom.”

Since its inception in 2003, the program has awarded over 300 students with college scholarships. The program is funded by the Intact Charitable Trust and managed by Scholarship America®, a nonprofit scholarship program administrator.

The following lists this year’s award winners, along with their parent’s employer and the college or university they plan to attend this fall:

The Intact Charitable Trust USA is a tax‐exempt private foundation under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code managed by employees of Intact Services USA LLC.

Scholarship Recipient

Company (parent’s employer)

College Attending

Alyssa Dennin


Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Amalia Hornung

Hays Companies

University of Minnesota: Twin Cities

Cali Macisak

Synapse Services LLC

University of Georgia

Destiny Johnson

Assurance Brokers, Ltd.

McKendree University

Emma Eisses

Wycoff Insurance

Gonzaga University

Erin Sundstrom


University of Connecticut

Foster Harlfinger


Fordham University

Jack Artis


University of Massachusetts Amherst

Jack Coulter


University of San Diego

Jillian Curran

Marsh USA

University of Pittsburgh

Kayla Zdonick


State University of New York College at Oneonta

Kiera Ryan


University of St. Thomas

Natalie Ellingson

Marsh & McClennan Agency

University of South Carolina: Columbia

Peyton Miller


University of Kentucky

Robyn Jones


Boston University

Timothy Healy

PSA Insurance & Financial Services

University of Missouri: Columbia